Disney. Pictures. Stuff. And so on…

Santa

I’m an official Santa Helper. I’ll be playing Santa tomorrow morning at local school. This will be the 7th time I’ve done this.

I’ve been Santa for small children, pets, older kids and once at an artist market. You’ve read this and are thinking, “So?”

And you’re right to think this. It’s no big deal really. But if you think about this from a child’s point-of-view, it may be the single biggest thing I do all year.

Don't be this guy.

Just like Disney cast members (see the tie-in now?😉 ), playing Santa means becoming the character. You need to know things. And have answers ready. And deal with problems as they arise. The more I do it, the more serious I take it. You’re literally holding a child’s trust in your hands. And the trust in Santa transcends all boundaries. Christmas is the epoch of the child year.

My daughter is on-board too. She knows I’m a helper Santa, and goes to great lengths to make sure younger children know that I am indeed, Santa.

So, let me say this: This is an honor and a privilege. Lets hope I don’t screw it up.

...and don't let this kid down.

Comments on: "Santa" (1)

  1. And he is the best one ever…pretty soon we’ll be letting go of the fake beard and going with the real one. I can’t wait! He is a delightful santa, and you know how you can tell? No kid meltdowns with him.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

